PwC Sustainability Awards 2023

Going beyond just financial disclosures

The PwC Sustainability Awards proactively aims at driving corporate reporting behaviours around Sustainability, based on reporting of internationally recognised metrics and KPIs beyond financial information and governance disclosures. The objective is to foster Sustainability initiatives in organisations in Mauritius.

The awardees: seven categories and the "Most Impactful Project".

From left to right: Mr Nicholas Park (Plastinax Austral Ltd for 'RESIGHT'), Mr Ashvin Chatoorsing (Ascencia Limited), Mr Jacques d'Unienville (Omnicane Limited), Mr Eric Dorchies (Ciel Textile), Mr Vishal Nunkoo (Velogic Holding Company Limited), Mr Thierry Montocchio (Rogers Hospitality), Ms. Virginie Pasnin (Lottotech Ltd), Mr Ravin Dajee (Absa Bank Mauritius Limited). 

Learn more

What if we only had today, to change tomorrow?

Any issue that has the potential to put the future of our nation and its people in jeopardy, merits all our attention. Sustainability has become critical to our survival and business is no exception to this!

Corporate reporting is now more than just financial disclosures, the Sustainability Awards is PwC's new flagship initiative to promote Sustainability in organisations (improving on the well-established Corporate Reporting Awards first introduced in 1998).

It’s time to step forward! 

Playback of this video is not currently available


Eligible categories for the 2023 edition

This year’s edition targeted the following seven industries:

  • Hospitality and Tourism 
  • Financial Services
  • Manufacturing
  • Wholesale and Retail
  • Construction and Real Estate
  • Transport and Logistics
  • Agro-Industry

By making the Sustainability Awards industry specific, we aim at encouraging organisations to make the maximum impact from their Sustainability strategy and initiatives.

In the case of conglomerates which operate in multiple industries, they have had to nominate individual subsidiaries by industry and demonstrate that the selected organisation or organistions had impactful initiatives and reporting as part of their Sustainability agenda.

Sustainability Awards

The timeline

Assessment principles and methodology

An Independent Jury will assess participating organisations based on the principles laid out in global frameworks such as Global Reporting Initiative (GRI), Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD) and International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB).

The assessment will be based on both quantitative and qualitative KPIs, under four sustainability criteria as follows:

The quality of the company's Sustainability report is a critical criterion. Judges will assess the clarity and completeness of the report, the level of disclosure and the accuracy of the data provided.

By integrating Sustainability considerations into their overall business strategy and decision-making process, companies report not just on Sustainability performance but also demonstrate that they are committed to sustainability and are actively working to improve their performance.

Sustainability efforts that fail to have meaningful and measurable impacts can be tantamount to mere PR tactics at best and to greenwashing at worst. Thus, rewarding companies based on their impact on the economy, society, the environment and all stakeholders concerned becomes critical to lend credibility.

The complexity of Sustainability issues implies that companies need to be at the forefront of innovation and to fully leverage on technology to deliver on Sustainability goals. The extent to which the company is innovative in its approach to Sustainability reporting will also be considered. This can include using new technologies to collect and analyse data or implementing unique initiatives that address specific Sustainability issues.

Our Independent Jury members

Conservation Director and Assistant Treasurer of the Mauritian Wildlife Foundation

Independent Director and Governance consultant

Head of Faculty of Accounting, Finance and Law at Curtin Mauritius

Head of ACCA Mauritius and New Markets

< Back

< Back
[+] Read More

Submissions for the PwC Sustainability Awards 2023 are now closed. Winners have been announced on 31 August 2023.


The CRA, initially launched in Mauritius in 1998, has now achieved its objective of encouraging the right level of financial, non-financial and governance disclosures. 

Sustainability is now becoming an increasingly critical component of investment decision making and in light of PwC’s commitment towards Sustainability, the PwC Sustainability Awards is replacing the CRA as the new flagship event.

It will set the stage for a new era in ways of doing business and corporate reporting.

For the 2023 edition, we opened participation to organisations in seven industries that collectively represent around 77% of the Mauritian economy: Hospitality and Tourism, Financial Services, Manufacturing, Wholesale and Retail, Construction and Real Estate, Transportation and Logistic, and Agro-Industry.

There is no ‘group-level category’ and conglomerates need to select the organisations in their group to participate. A conglomerate can therefore select several of its organisations in several industries.

For each of the criteria under assessing (Reported Data, Integrated Business Strategy, Impact, and Innovation), the documents being uploaded (Word or Pdf) need to be in a structured report format. These can be supplemented with annex sections that include, but are not limited to: press cuttings, media links, CEO statements, internal newsletters, etc.

Follow PwC Mauritius

Contact us

Julien Tyack

Julien Tyack

Risk Assurance Services Partner and Sustainability Leader, PwC Mauritius

Tel: +230 404 5210

Anish Chandra

Anish Chandra

Associate Director, ESG & Sustainability, PwC Mauritius

Tel: +230 404 5430