France adds Bermuda, Jersey, and the BVI to list of non-cooperative states and territories

August 2013


The French government recently updated its ‘black list’ of jurisdictions (so-called non-cooperative states and territories, or NCSTs) that do not apply international standards with respect to exchanges of tax information. France added Bermuda, Jersey, and the British Virgin Islands (BVI) to its black list, while removing the Philippines. These changes are effective retroactively to January 1, 2013.

Transactions involving NCSTs are subject to stringent French tax measures that are designed to discourage transactions involving NCSTs.

Contact us

Tim Anson
ITS Co-leader
Tel: +1 (202) 414 1664

Rob DeGaudenzi
ITS Partner - NY Metro Market
Tel: +1 (646) 471 0645

Follow us