Pianist named 22nd PwC Jersey Young Musician of the Year

Pianist Lillian Garnier has been named ‘PwC Jersey Young Musician of the Year 2014’ in the 22nd anniversary year of the competition.

Beaulieu Convent student Lillian fought off competition from five other finalists in the contest, which took place on Saturday 8 March at the Jersey Opera House. She becomes the ninth pianist to win the event in its 22 year history.

To win the title, Lillian performed a short programme of music that included four pieces ranging from Beethoven to Gershwin.  As well as being awarded the PwC Jersey Young Musician of the Year Trophy and a cheque for £200, Lillian also received a trip for herself and a friend or family member to attend a concert of her choice in the UK and has been invited to give a recital in the summer at the Jersey Arts Centre. 

In addition, finalist Nicole Taylor (percussion) was presented with the Jersey Symphony Orchestra Award for an outstanding performance, which this year was adjudicated separately for the first time.

Dr Graham Cox, Head of the Jersey Music Service, said: “It was a lovely evening. We had one of the biggest audiences we’ve ever had for the final and it was just about a full Opera House. There was an incredibly high standard among all the finalists and a really varied programme. Lillian really captured the audience and took them on a wonderful journey.”

Karl Hairon, Partner at PwC, commented: “The standard of performance from all six finalists was once again outstanding.  This competition has a great track record of inspiring many participants to drive forward with their musical careers and I am sure there are a number in this year’s competition who will go on to experience tremendous musical success. They should all be very proud of their achievements.”


Winners of the PwC Jersey Young Musician of the Year since it began in 1993 are: 

1993 : Michael Eouzan, Euphonium

1994 : Claire Pinel, Flute

1995 : Luke Brown, Tenor Horn

1996 : James Southall, Piano

1997 : James Southall, Cello

1998 : Christopher George, Piano

1999 : Laura Smith, Flute

2000 : Dominic Pallot, Trombone

2001 : Julie Robinson, Violin

2002 : Russell Abraham, Percussion

2003 : Robbie Harvey, Trombone

2004 : Jocelyn Crowcroft, Piano

2005 : Louise Morgan, Percussion

2006 : Edward Bailhache, Piano

2007 : Samuel Bisson, Piano

2008 : Jennah Smart, Flute

2009 : Georgina Sutton, Piano

2010 : Jack Chown, Percussionist 

2011 : Toby Huelin, Piano

2012 : Krystian Lamb, Piano

2013 : Elliott Samphier, Violin