PwC was created by the merger of two firms - Price Waterhouse and Coopers & Lybrand - each with historical roots going back some 150 years. Set out below are some key milestones in the history of both firms.

1849 :
Samuel Lowell Price sets up in business in London
1854 :
William Cooper establishes his own practice in London, which seven years later becomes Cooper Brothers
1865 :
Price, Holyland and Waterhouse join forces in partnership
1874 :
Name changes to Price, Waterhouse & Co.
1898 :
Robert H. Montgomery, William M. Lybrand, Adam A. Ross Jr. and his brother T. Edward Ross form Lybrand, Ross Brothers and Montgomery
1921 :
Both Price Waterhouse and Coopers & Lybrand open up an office in Brussels
1957 :
Cooper Brothers & Co (UK), McDonald, Currie and Co (Canada) and Lybrand, Ross Bros & Montgomery (US) merge to form Coopers & Lybrand
1982 :
Price Waterhouse World Firm formed
1990 :
Coopers & Lybrand and Deloitte Haskins & Sells merged in a number of countries around the world.
1998 :
Worldwide merger of Price Waterhouse and Coopers & Lybrand to create PricewaterhouseCoopers

PwC Indonesia History
1938 :
KAP Drs. Tan Eng Oen formed
1965 :
KAP Drs. Tan Eng Oen becomes KAP Drs. Hadi Sutanto
1971 :
Enter correspondence relationship with Price Waterhouse
1990 :
Name changes to KAP Drs.Hadi Sutanto & Rekan
1990 :
Enter a partnership with Price Waterhouse
1998 :
Price Waterhouse becomes PricewaterhouseCoopers
2004 :
Name changes from KAP Drs.Hadi Sutanto & Rekan to KAP Haryanto Sahari & Rekan
2010 :
Name changes from KAP Haryanto Sahari & Rekan to KAP Tanudiredja, Wibisana & Rekan 
2015 :
Name changes from KAP Tanudiredja, Wibisana & Rekan to KAP Tanudiredja, Wibisana, Rintis & Rekan